Askary Awards 

About this website

The Askary Awards website provides information on the annual Askary Awards instituted in 1997 to encourage photographic talent among young photographers in Karnataka State, India. It also provides insights into photography aspects and recalls memories of photographers who have rendered great service to the art of photography in Karnataka State.

Askary Awards

The Askary Awards are awarded every year to encourage the youth and promote the art of photography. Photographers below the age of 35 years from the State of Karnataka, India are eligible to apply for the awards.

Hearty Congratulations to the winners of 2018 Askary Awards


Portfolio: Chetan Gaonkar's landscapes

Click on thumbnail to see the winning portfolio in larger size !


Portfolio: Abstracts in Architecture

Click on thumbnail to see the winning portfolio in larger size !

International Jury for 2018 Askary Awards

Your portfolio submitted for the Askary Awards 2018 will be judged by a panel of International Jury with rich experience. Rest Assured that your pictures will get all the attention required. Participate with the best of your pictures.

Mr. K B Jothady

APSI, Hon. PSI, Mumbai, India

Dr. Joao Taborda


Mr. Marcel van Balken

MFIAP, EFIAP/d2, MPSA, The Netherlands

Mr. Digwas Bellemane

EFIP, HIUP (Askary Awardee 2012)

Terms and Conditions


  1. Open only to amateur photographers from Karnataka State only. Proof of address must be provided before declaration of results.
  2. The photographer must be below 35 years of age. Proof of age must be provided before submission of results.
  3. The Askary Awards can be availed only once in lifetime. Previous Askary Award recipients are not eligible to participate.


  1. Entries must originate as photographs (image-captures of objects via light sensitivity) made by the entrant on photographic emulsion or acquired digitally.
  2. By submitting an entry (using analogue or digital cameras), the entrant certifies the work as his/her own.
  3. Photographs must be submitted as a JPEG file with minimum dimension of 1000 pixels on the longer side and maximum dimension of 1920 pixels for the longer side at 300 dpi.
  4. Submit files saved in highest quality. The maximum file size allowed is 3MB.
  5. Images should not have borders and copyright watermarks.


  1. There will be TWO equal Askary Awards each consisting of:
    • Askary Awards Trophy
    • Cash Award Rs. 2500 /-
  2. Award winning photographs may be published in publications related to the event without prior notice.
  3. Award winning entries and photographs of the award winners will be published in this website.
  4. Names of Jury members will be announced during the Award ceremony.
  5. Proof of age, domicile and professional status must be provided before declaration of results.
  6. Failure to submit proof before the stipulated time determined by the organizers will result in disqualification.
  7. Decision of Jury is final and binding on all participants. No correspondence will be entertained in this regard.
  8. The Awards will be presented during the World Photography Celebration event on Aug 19th, 2018

2017 Winners

Mr. Nikhil Bhaktavatsal
Mr. Rakhesh V C

Rakesh V C receiving Askary Award for 2017.

Join Youth Photographic Society